This is the face I want to see everyday

Yesterday I was shared a link to this video. You may have already seen it shared through social media. Its an animated short film by Daniel Martínez Lara & Rafa Cano Méndez. In a nutshell it is about; educational systems, family relationships and societal values clashing with creativity and happiness. I watched this on a Friday morning with tears rolling down my face as I saw the colour drain from a child’s face as the creativity is stamped out of him. This film could not have come at a better time. As I was suffering a bit of the old teacher fatigue, this reminded me why I do what I do, why I love what I do and how lucky I am to do what I do. I love seeing these faces (at 2 minutes 14 seconds) everyday. I love it when  children enter my class like the character does at 1 minute 48 seconds. And do you know what? If I am not seeing those faces or they are not entering my class like this then it is time to reflect and work out what I can change so I can make this happen.

Leave a Reply

